Skip to main content

Independent; not a government site. Official answers: Medicare.gov, 1-800-MEDICARE.

Medicare Advantage and drug plans not offered in 2027

732 Medicare Advantage plans (2,391,523 members in September 2026) and 32 stand-alone drug plans (1,182,209 members) offered in 2026 are not offered in 2027, according to the CMS plan crosswalk of October 1, 2026. Another 74 end in part of their area, 328 fold into other plans and 662 leave some counties; 825 plans are new, for 5,412 plans in all.

How many plans are there for 2027?

Individual plans in the CMS landscape files (employer plans are not in them).
Plans20262027Change
Medicare Advantage plans offered5,1335,089down 44
Stand-alone drug plans offered367323down 44

Source: CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision).

What happens to the 2026 plans?

Not offered in 2027
764 plans; 3,573,732 members, Sept. 2026
End in part of their area
74 plans
Fold into another plan
328 plans; CMS moves their members
Leave some of their counties
662 plans; 718,463 members in the counties they leave
New for 2027
825 plans

How the counts fit: of the 5,500 individual plans of 2026, 4,334 renew (3,212 as they were, 460 in more counties, 662 in fewer), 328 fold into other plans, 74 end in part of their area and 764 end. The 5,412 plans of 2027 are 4,587 plans that carry 2026 members (some take in folded plans, some are split from one) and 825 new plans. Employer and union group plans are counted in none of these.

Source: CMS plan crosswalk from 2026 to 2027 (Oct. 1, 2026); CMS monthly enrollment by plan and by county, September 2026 (CMS hides counts under 11).

Whose ending plans have the most members?

Members in plans that are not offered in 2027, September 2026 (Medicare Advantage and drug plans)

CVS Health Corporation1,178,554
Humana Inc.409,202
UnitedHealth Group, Inc.382,434
Health Care Service Corporation308,170
Aware Integrated, Inc.251,077
Centene Corporation130,196
Molina Healthcare, Inc.87,532
Lifetime Healthcare, Inc.72,402
Providence St Joseph Health53,246
Elevance Health, Inc.50,715
Sorted by members in ending plans; most members of some companies' ending plans are in stand-alone drug plans
Parent companyMedicare Advantage plans that endDrug plans that endMembers, Sept. 2026
CVS Health Corporation98131,178,554
Humana Inc.620409,202
UnitedHealth Group, Inc.830382,434
Health Care Service Corporation8716308,170
Aware Integrated, Inc.80251,077
Centene Corporation880130,196
Molina Healthcare, Inc.28087,532
Lifetime Healthcare, Inc.10072,402
Providence St Joseph Health8053,246
Elevance Health, Inc.39050,715
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Mutual Ins. Co.8050,589
Horizon Mutual Holdings, Inc10042,581
Medica Holding Company9031,841
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.11031,321
Sanford Health9029,305

Source: CMS plan crosswalk from 2026 to 2027 (Oct. 1, 2026); CMS monthly enrollment by plan and by county, September 2026 (CMS hides counts under 11).

Which companies leave Medicare Advantage for 2027?

9 companies that sold individual Medicare Advantage plans in 2026 sell none in 2027 (they may keep employer or drug plans):

Parent companyBrandsPlans in 2026Members, Sept. 2026Sold in
Providence St Joseph HealthProvidence Medicare Advantage Plans853,246California, Oregon, Washington
Sharp HealthcareSharp Health Plan417,391California
Memorial Hermann Health SystemMemorial Hermann Health Plan314,709Texas
CHRISTUS HealthCHRISTUS Health Advantage88,915New Mexico, Texas
Central Mass Health Holding LLCMass Advantage47,767Massachusetts
Aspirus, Inc.Aspirus Health Plan25,974Wisconsin
BMC Health System, Inc.WellSense Health Plan45,129New Hampshire
Group 1001Clear Spring Health10not reportedColorado, Georgia, Illinois
CDS Monarch, Inc.iCircle Services of the Finger Lakes, Inc1not reportedNew York

Source: CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision); CMS plan crosswalk from 2026 to 2027 (Oct. 1, 2026); CMS monthly enrollment by plan and by county, September 2026 (CMS hides counts under 11).

Which large plans end?

2026 planParent companyMembers, Sept. 2026Sold in
SilverScript ChoiceS5601-012CVS Health Corporation182,772Pennsylvania, West Virginia (drug-plan region)
SilverScript ChoiceS5601-050CVS Health Corporation171,387Upper Midwest and Northern Plains (Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming) (drug-plan region)
SilverScript ChoiceS5601-064CVS Health Corporation157,930California (drug-plan region)
Humana Full Access GivebackH5216-393Humana Inc.135,614Florida
SilverScript ChoiceS5601-030CVS Health Corporation132,488Indiana, Kentucky (drug-plan region)
Blue Cross Medicare Advantage ChoiceH5959-014Aware Integrated, Inc.127,317Minnesota
SilverScript ChoiceS5601-004CVS Health Corporation119,612Central New England (Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Vermont) (drug-plan region)
Humana Full Access GivebackH7617-111Humana Inc.68,316Florida
HealthSpring Extra RxS5617-382Health Care Service Corporation46,025California (drug-plan region)
SilverScript ChoiceS5601-060CVS Health Corporation41,895Oregon, Washington (drug-plan region)
Blue Cross Medicare Advantage CoreH5959-013Aware Integrated, Inc.37,573Minnesota
AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC TX-0005H1278-013UnitedHealth Group, Inc.34,336Texas

Source: CMS plan crosswalk from 2026 to 2027 (Oct. 1, 2026); CMS monthly enrollment by plan and by county, September 2026 (CMS hides counts under 11).

Where do plans leave counties?

Plans that end count in every county they served; states with the most members in those plans first
StateTimes a plan ends in or leaves a countyMembers in those plansTimes a plan is new to a county
Minnesota751345,086227
Florida703320,589616
New York756242,476614
Texas2,360201,2732,417
Ohio1,781192,7181,372
California244157,157260
Washington599156,791267
Oregon156121,120125
Pennsylvania61196,367732
Michigan54795,557533
Connecticut10684,62365
Georgia1,24484,2851,113
Maine13867,88878
Idaho25163,22599
Illinois83562,500435
Wisconsin38762,290355
New Mexico24061,755203
New Jersey21461,454177
Massachusetts7755,898113
Iowa65351,046857
Indiana52443,3211,050
Nebraska1,10640,558985
North Carolina58534,446722
Colorado51531,842306
Maryland20931,83536
Louisiana32830,763833
Utah11630,24379
Nevada4327,05975
Arizona8426,344101
Missouri70925,5191,091
Tennessee82021,8551,074
New Hampshire2821,74934
Virginia40121,288921
Hawaii1019,58524
South Dakota42019,094158
Montana18617,97818
Oklahoma62516,237281
West Virginia27415,901487
Alabama24515,272742
Arkansas83715,048553
North Dakota33812,671119
Kansas38410,647421
South Carolina859,493232
Kentucky4819,2981,473
Mississippi1688,302966
Wyoming107,2063
District of Columbia72,1902
Delaware62,1576
Rhode Island53000
Vermont2938
Puerto Rico00362

Source: CMS plan crosswalk from 2026 to 2027 (Oct. 1, 2026); CMS monthly enrollment by plan and by county, September 2026 (CMS hides counts under 11); CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision).

How are these counted?

A plan is “not offered in 2027” when every row of the CMS crosswalk for it carries the status “Terminated/Non-renewed Contract” (one such plan, a Part B-only plan, is not in the landscape file and is not counted). A plan that “folds into another” is consolidated: CMS moves its members to the plan it names. A plan leaves a county when none of the 2027 plans it maps to is sold there. Members are CMS's September 2026 counts; CMS hides counts under 11, so county totals are slightly low.

What else should you check?