Medicare Advantage plans in Cook, IL, 2027
Cook, Illinois has 48 Medicare Advantage plans open to everyone for 2027 (58 in 2026) and 19 special needs plans, according to the CMS landscape files; 39 of the open plans have a $0 premium. 12 plans that served the county in 2026 end or leave it, with 12,274 members living here in September 2026.
What changes in Cook for 2027?
| In the county | 2026 | 2027 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plans open to everyone | 58 | 48 | ▼down 10 |
| Special needs plans | 20 | 19 | ▼down 1 |
| Plans with a $0 premium | 46 | 39 | ▼down 7 |
| Plans that lower the Part B premium | 19 | 12 | ▼down 7 |
| Median out-of-pocket limit | $4,500 | $5,150 | ▲up $650 |
Source: CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision); CMS plan benefit package files, 2027 and 2026.
Which plans can anyone in Cook join?
| Plan | Premium | Out-of-pocket limit | Part B reduction | 2026 stars |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Humana Total CompleteH1468-013 · HMO | $0 | $2,150 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Devoted Core 001 ILH7151-001 · HMO | $0 | $2,700 | none | 4 of 5 |
| Essence Advantage SelectH2610-027 · HMO | $0 | $2,900 | none | 4.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage Essentials from UHC IL-8H2802-024 · HMO-POS | $0 | $2,900 | none | 4 of 5 |
| Wellcare Simple Exclusive ValueH1416-085 · HMO-POS | $0 | $3,200 | none | 3 of 5 |
| Wellcare Simple ExclusiveH5779-007 · HMO | $0 | $3,200 | none | 3 of 5 |
| HealthSpring PreferredH4513-085 · HMO | $0 | $3,300 | none | 4.5 of 5 |
| HealthSpring Preferred SavingsH4513-086 · HMO | $0 | $4,000 | $135 | 4.5 of 5 |
| Humana Essentials Plus GivebackH1468-021 · HMO | $0 | $4,250 | $50 | 3.5 of 5 |
| Humana Value ChoiceH7617-018 · PPO | $0 | $4,300 | none | 4.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage Extras from UHC IL-9H2802-075 · HMO-POS | $0 | $4,450 | none | 4 of 5 |
| HealthSpring PremierH4513-084 · HMO-POS | $0 | $4,450 | none | 4.5 of 5 |
| Humana Value ChoiceH5216-251 · PPO | $0 | $4,450 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Essence Advantage ChoiceH6200-009 · PPO | $0 | $4,450 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| HealthSpring True ChoiceH7849-002 · PPO | $0 | $4,450 | none | 3 of 5 |
| Devoted Choice 001 ILH6545-001 · PPO | $0 | $4,700 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC IL-2H2802-054 · HMO-POS | $0 | $4,900 | none | 4 of 5 |
| HumanaChoiceH5216-283 · PPO | $0 | $4,900 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Zing Select Care ILH4624-001 · HMO | $0 | $4,950 | none | 2.5 of 5 |
| Wellcare SimpleH1416-009 · HMO-POS | $0 | $5,000 | none | 3 of 5 |
Show the other 28 plans, by premium
| Plan | Premium | Out-of-pocket limit | Part B reduction | 2026 stars |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HealthSpring True Choice SavingsH7849-080 · PPO | $0 | $5,000 | $34 | 3 of 5 |
| Zing Elite Select IL-INH4624-026 · HMO | $0 | $5,100 | none | 2.5 of 5 |
| Aetna Medicare Prime Extra CareH1206-010 · HMO | $0 | $5,200 | none | not rated (too little data) |
| Aetna Medicare EagleH5521-286 · PPO | $0 | $5,200 | $70 | 4.5 of 5 |
| Devoted Choice 010 ILH6545-010 · PPO | $0 | $5,400 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Aetna Medicare Signature ExtraH5521-086 · PPO | $0 | $5,500 | none | 4.5 of 5 |
| Wellcare Simple EssentialH5779-009 · HMO | $0 | $5,500 | none | 3 of 5 |
| Aetna Medicare SignatureH1206-003 · HMO-POS | $0 | $5,900 | none | not rated (too little data) |
| Aetna Medicare PrimeH3192-001 · HMO-POS | $0 | $5,900 | none | 3 of 5 |
| Devoted Giveback Extras 008 ILH7151-008 · HMO | $0 | $5,900 | $70 | 4 of 5 |
| Humana USAA Honor GivebackH5216-355 · PPO | $0 | $6,000 | $150 | 3.5 of 5 |
| Humana USAA Honor GivebackH7617-022 · PPO | $0 | $6,000 | $150 | 4.5 of 5 |
| Humana USAA Honor GivebackR5361-001 · Regional PPO | $0 | $6,750 | $30 | 3 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage Patriot No Rx IL-MA2H2802-091 · HMO-POS | $0 | $7,150 | $170 | 4 of 5 |
| Aetna Medicare SignatureH7301-013 · PPO | $0 | $7,150 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC IL-5H8768-010 · PPO | $0 | $7,150 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage Patriot No Rx IL-MA01H8768-019 · PPO | $0 | $7,150 | $160 | 3.5 of 5 |
| Wellcare GivebackH5779-010 · HMO | $0 | $7,800 | $37 | 3 of 5 |
| Devoted Giveback 003 ILH7151-003 · HMO | $0 | $9,850 | $184.70 | 4 of 5 |
| Blue Cross Medicare Advantage BasicH3822-001 · HMO-POS | $29 | $5,500 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Aetna Medicare PremierH5521-016 · PPO | $42 | $5,200 | none | 4.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC IL-0001H2802-025 · HMO-POS | $43 | $2,900 | none | 4 of 5 |
| Essence Advantage Choice PlusH6200-010 · PPO | $49 | $6,700 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Humana Gold ChoiceH8145-006 · PFFS | $60 | $7,800 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC IL-0004H8768-005 · PPO | $84 | $7,150 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| HumanaChoiceR5361-002 · Regional PPO | $87 | $7,700 | none | 3 of 5 |
| HumanaChoiceH5216-013 · PPO | $92 | $6,550 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
| Essence Advantage Premier PlusH6200-011 · PPO | $267 | $2,900 | none | 3.5 of 5 |
Source: CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision); CMS plan benefit package files, 2027 and 2026. Stars are the contract's 2026 rating. confirm on Medicare Plan Finder.
Which plans leave Cook in 2027?
Members of these plans here choose a 2027 plan during open enrollment, October 15 to December 7, 2026; choosing by December 31 means no gap; because their plan is leaving the county, they can still join until the end of February 2027, with coverage from the first of the next month. Each plan's page says what happens to its members.
| 2026 plan | Members here, Sept. 2026 | For 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| Blue Cross Medicare Advantage Choice PlusH8634-003 | 4,094 | Not offered |
| Humana Full AccessH5216-412 | 2,448 | Not offered |
| Blue Cross Medicare Advantage Choice PremierH8634-004 | 1,763 | Not offered |
| Blue Cross Medicare Advantage Basic PlusH3822-007 | 1,503 | Not offered |
| Humana Full AccessH7617-009 | 1,044 | Not offered |
| Blue Cross Medicare Advantage SecureH8547-001 | 900 | Not offered |
| Blue Cross Medicare Advantage Premier PlusH3822-008 | 353 | Not offered |
| Molina Medicare Choice CareH2715-003 | 102 | Not offered |
| Wellcare Patriot GivebackH5779-011 | 67 | Not offered |
| Clear Spring Health BrightPath AdvantageH3071-002 | not reported | Not offered |
| Clear Spring Health BrightPath AdvantageH5454-002 | not reported | Not offered |
| Clear Spring Health Balance+ Diabetes & HeartH5454-006 | not reported | Not offered |
Source: CMS plan crosswalk from 2026 to 2027 (Oct. 1, 2026); CMS monthly enrollment by plan and by county, September 2026 (CMS hides counts under 11); CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision).
Which special needs plans are sold here?
Open only to people with Medicaid as well as Medicare, with certain chronic conditions, or living in an institution.
| Plan | Who can join | Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Humana Community HMO Diabetes and HeartH1468-017 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Devoted C-SNP Enhanced 005 ILH7151-005 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Devoted C-SNP Giveback Extras 007 ILH7151-007 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Zing Select Diabetes & Heart ILH4624-010 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Zing Elite Diabetes & Heart ILH4624-028 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Zing Select Dialysis ILH4624-029 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Aetna Medicare Prime Chronic CareH1206-004 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Humana Dual Fully IntegratedH4329-001 | Dual-Eligible | $0 |
| UHC Complete Care Support IL-1AH2001-038 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Molina Medicare Complete Care PlusH3093-002 | Dual-Eligible | $0 |
| Zing Select Diabetes & Heart Complete ILH4624-027 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Wellcare Meridian Dual AlignH6971-001 | Dual-Eligible | $0 |
| Devoted C-SNP Plus 006 ILH7151-006 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $0 |
| Aetna Medicare FIDEH9771-001 | Dual-Eligible | $0 |
| Longevity Health PlanH9590-001 | Institutional | $3.20 |
| UHC Complete Care Support IL-7H2802-067 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $7.60 |
| UHC Nursing Home Plan IL-F001H0710-039 | Institutional | $7.60 |
| Provider Partners Illinois Advantage PlanH3800-001 | Institutional | $7.60 |
| Zing Elite Essentials Diabetes & Heart IL-INH4624-045 | Chronic or Disabling Condition | $9.80 |
Source: CMS Medicare Advantage and Part D landscape files for 2027 (Sept. 22, 2026, revised Sept. 30) and 2026 (Sept. 2, 2026 revision).
How many people in Cook use Medicare Advantage?
402,008 of the county's 896,718 people with Medicare were in a Medicare Advantage plan in September 2026, 44.8%; in Illinois as a whole the share is 43.9%.
Source: CMS Medicare Advantage state and county penetration, September 2026.
What else should you check?
- Medicare Advantage in IllinoisEvery county of the state
- 10 stand-alone drug plans in IllinoisIf you keep Original Medicare
- Is your plan ending?Every plan not offered in 2027